adplus-dvertising
Trends

How to delete Facebook without losing your friends and photos

Casey Neistat wrote an article back in 2014 how he ‘fixed’ his Facebook by unfriending people who shared too much. I tried this in 2017… and it absolutely didn’t work!
People still share way too much and every time I go on Facebook it feels like like a whole plague of negativity that’s trying to give me cancer. Just no. It’s not cool. Facebook really isn’t the ‘cool’ platform it was back in 2008.
The thing is, I can’t just go and delete it. Having lived abroad, there’s a whole lot of connections with people and photos I uploaded over the years, that I don’t wanna lose. But thankfully there’s a way to do both:

  • Log into Facebook. Don’t look at any of the cancerous content on your feed and go directly into settings
  • Click on “Your Facebook Information”
  • Click on “download your information”
  • Now you’ve got a whole lot of options regarding what you want to download

how to delete facebook without losing your friends and photos
I deselected everything and only chose “Photos and Videos” and “Friends.” Why? Well I honestly don’t care what I posted. It’s probably all embarrassing shit anyway. I’d rather not be relive it. Oh and the format — as a programmer, I chose JSON.
I then click on Create File. This basically generates a compressed .zip file with all the data you requested. It takes about an hour till its ready for you to download.
how to delete facebook without losing your friends and photos 1
Eventually it’s ready to download.
how to delete facebook without losing your friends and photos 2
And now it’s downloading.
After downloading it successfully, I backed it up onto my external hard drive.
how to delete facebook without losing your friends and photos 3
Extracting it, it gives me a lot of files. These are all my photos.
Now, to keep these files secure (it’s already on my hard disk, but I need a little bit extra), I backed them up onto my Google Photos account. About 1,900 images.
how to delete facebook without losing your friends and photos 1
As for my friend list.. well.. It’s all in JSON format.. So now you can essentially use the power of your brain to think how your friend looked.
If you can’t, well then you probably weren’t friends anyway. Sorry.
how to delete facebook without losing your friends and photos 4
I’ll still figure out what I’m gonna do with the friends list. But hey, at least I have names, which is essentially my biggest weakness. I’m terrible with names.
What’s left now, is to delete your account.

  • Click Settings
  • Click Your Facebook Information in the left column
  • Click Delete Your Account and Information, then click Delete My Account
  • Enter your password, click Continue and then click Delete Account
See also  Facebook Messenger internally tests voice commands for chat, calls

how to delete facebook without losing your friends and photos 5
And now live happily ever .
Source: The Next Web
To Read Our Daily News Updates, Please Visit Inventiva Or Subscribe Our Newsletter & Push.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this:

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker