THE $25 MILLION QUESTION: DID KRISHAN RATTAN INVEST IN A COMPANY HE HIMSELF FOUNDED?
Mount Row was founded by Krishan Rattan. KairosWealth now identifies Krishan Rattan as its Founder and Chairman. In November 2023, Mount Row was publicly announced as the investor leading a US$25 million round in KairosWealth. The headline practically writes itself — but the corporate documents require a more careful, and far more uncomfortable, question: was this genuine external investment, related-party capital, or some combination of the two?

There are funding announcements. There are corporate realities. And then there is the uncomfortable space between the two.
The Krishan Rattan–KairosWealth–Mount Row story sits precisely in that space.
In November 2023, KairosWealth was presented across business and corporate-media publications as an AI-driven wealth-management platform that had secured US$25 million, with Mount Row Partners as the lead investor. The announcement simultaneously said that Krishan Rattan, Mount Row’s founding partner, would become Chairman of KairosWealth.
Today, KairosWealth’s own website describes Krishan Rattan as “Founder and Chairman of the Board.”
And Terra-Invest’s current biography says that, before Terra, Rattan “set up Mount-Row,” described as an alternative asset manager with more than US$1.2 billion in AUM.
So the basic corporate picture is not speculation:
Rattan — founder of Mount Row.
Rattan — founder/chairman of KairosWealth.
Mount Row — announced investor in KairosWealth.
Funding announced — US$25 million.
That is the starting point.
The sensational question is whether one should therefore say “Krishan Rattan invested in Krishan Rattan.”
Legally, that sentence goes too far.
Investigatively, however, the underlying question is legitimate — and considerably more serious:
Who actually supplied the US$25 million, through which legal entity or fund, under what ownership and control structure, at what valuation, in exchange for what securities, and how much of that capital was genuinely third-party money?
Those are not rhetorical questions. They are the questions a sophisticated investor, regulator, auditor or investigative reporter would ask.
THE FIRST THING TO GET RIGHT: “HE INVESTED IN HIMSELF” IS A CATCHY LINE — BUT NOT THE LEGAL FACT
Mount Row Partners Pte. Ltd. is a separate Singapore incorporated company. Public company records identify it by UEN 202036543W, incorporated on 12 November 2020, as a private company limited by shares. The recorded principal activity is management consultancy.
KairosWealth’s Singapore legal vehicle is separately identified as KAIROSWEALTH PTE. LTD., UEN 201835781D, a private company limited by shares.
So, from a strict legal-entity perspective, Mount Row Partners Pte. Ltd. is not Krishan Rattan personally, and KairosWealth Pte. Ltd. is not Krishan Rattan personally.
That distinction matters.
If a founder owns 80% of Company A and Company A buys shares in Company B, it is not technically accurate to write that the founder personally made the investment. The investment is made by Company A.
But that does not end the inquiry.
It begins it.
Because the economically relevant question is not merely “Which company signed the cheque?”
It is:
Who owned, controlled or economically benefited from the investor? Who controlled the recipient? Who negotiated the valuation? Who approved the transaction? Were there independent directors? Were outside investors involved? Was the transaction priced by an independent party? Were related-party disclosures made?
Those facts are materially different from simply knowing the names of two companies.
And the public-facing material reviewed for this investigation does not disclose enough of that transaction architecture to answer all of those questions.
That is the problem.
THE 2023 ANNOUNCEMENT MAKES THE OPTICS HARD TO IGNORE
The Ritz Herald article dated 13 November 2023 states that Mount Row Partners invested US$25 million in Kairoswealth. It also describes Rattan as Mount Row’s founding partner and says he would become chairman of KairosWealth.
A contemporaneous corporate-distribution release is even more explicit: it says Mount Row Partners had announced a US$25 million investment in Kairoswealth, describes Mount Row as founded by Krishan Rattan, and states that Rattan would become chairman of Kairoswealth.
The same announcement describes Mount Row as managing more than US$1.2 billion in assets under management.
Forbes India’s piece, as reflected in contemporaneous syndicated versions, told substantially the same promotional story: KairosWealth had secured US$25 million in funding led by Mount Row Partners, with Rattan becoming chairman.
This matters because the public narrative was not:
“Krishan Rattan has put personal money into a company he founded.”
The narrative was:
“KairosWealth has raised US$25 million from Mount Row Partners.”
Those two descriptions can describe the same underlying transaction only if the corporate relationship is clearly disclosed.
Without that disclosure, the market naturally hears “investor” and may assume an independent institutional capital-allocation decision.
That assumption needs to be tested.
WHAT DOES THE DATABASE TRAIL SAY?
Here the story becomes even more interesting.
CB Insights currently records KairosWealth as having raised US$25 million in one round, a Series A dated 14 November 2023, with Mount Row as the investor.
Its Mount Row investment record similarly identifies a US$25 million Kairoswealth Series A on 14 November 2023.
That data is broadly consistent with the 2023 announcement.
But another problem appears in later databases.
A 2025 Tracxn UAE technology report lists Kairoswealth at US$25 million, Series B, March 2025, with Mount Row as investor.
The Company Check likewise currently reports total funding of US$25 million in one round, but identifies that round as Series B in March 2025.
That creates a material information discrepancy.
It does not prove that KairosWealth received two separate US$25 million investments.
It may be a database reclassification, delayed data capture, a financing extension recorded incorrectly, or another reporting problem.
But it does mean that a serious due-diligence exercise should not simply copy the phrase “$25 million Series A” and move on.
The underlying financing documents should settle the matter.
Was there one US$25 million round in November 2023?
Was there another transaction in March 2025?
Why do databases classify the event differently?
What securities were issued?
To whom?
For how much?
A company asking sophisticated investors to trust its financial technology platform should be capable of answering sophisticated financial questions.
THEN COMES A SECOND CORPORATE PUZZLE: WHEN WAS KAIROSWEALTH ACTUALLY FOUNDED?
KairosWealth is commonly described in commercial databases and industry interviews as founded or created in 2022. CB Insights records a 2022 founding year, while a 2025 Hubbis interview describes KairosWealth as created in Singapore in 2022.
Yet the Singapore legal entity currently bearing the KairosWealth name, KAIROSWEALTH PTE. LTD., was incorporated on 19 October 2018. Its company-history record shows three earlier names:
Professional Event Talent International Pte. Ltd.
Global Event Talent Pte. Ltd.
Helix Systems Pte. Ltd.
This is not automatically suspicious.
A later founder can acquire, repurpose or rename an existing corporate vehicle. Startups often reorganise entities. A brand founded in 2022 does not necessarily require a brand-new legal company incorporated in 2022.
But an investigative report has to distinguish between:
the birth of the legal entity
and
the birth of the business being marketed to investors.
The public record reviewed here indicates:
Legal entity: 2018.
KairosWealth business/platform: publicly described as created/founded in 2022.
That distinction should appear in any serious investor presentation or investigative article.
Because a corporation is not born when a press release says it is.
A US$25 MILLION FUNDING ROUND — BUT WHAT EXACTLY WAS FUNDED?
The promotional material surrounding the transaction was spectacular.
KairosWealth was described as an AI-driven wealth platform providing access to investment products, custodians and financiers, with fractionalised alternative investments and an AI research desk. The 2023 material claimed the AI research operation was five times faster and half the cost of conventional human research desks.
It also claimed a 30% reduction in operational costs and the potential to generate up to 25% additional revenue for businesses using the platform.
By 2025, KairosWealth continued to describe its proposition in similar terms: B2B SaaS for single-family offices, multi-family offices and external asset managers, with AI-driven research, portfolio visibility, CRM, automation and access to private-market opportunities.
A Qdrant case study also records KairosWealth using vector-database technology for similarity search and retrieval-augmented generation use cases, and identifies Vincent Teyssier as its Chief Technology & AI Officer.
So there is evidence that there was, and is, an actual technology proposition.
That is important.
This investigation is not alleging that KairosWealth is fictitious.
The issue is different:
What was the actual economic substance of the US$25 million transaction?
THE MOST IMPORTANT QUESTION: WAS THERE INDEPENDENT CAPITAL?
This is where the glamorous language of “funding round” meets the boring but decisive language of corporate finance.
CB Insights presently identifies Mount Row as the sole known investor in the US$25 million round.
Crunchbase likewise identifies Mount Row as the investor and KairosWealth as having one Series A funding round.
The Ritz Herald announcement, meanwhile, describes the transaction as an investment led by Mount Row but prominently introduces a number of additional senior figures around the company, including Kirk Wagar and Shailesh Haribhakti.
There is a profound difference between:
“Mount Row led a round alongside independent institutional co-investors”
and
“Mount Row was the investor.”
The former demonstrates multiple independent sources of capital.
The latter may represent a sponsor investment from one related platform.
And in the current public material reviewed, the exact cap-table breakdown is not adequately disclosed.
That is precisely where the “Did Rattan invest in himself?” question becomes unavoidable.
MOUNT ROW’S OWN CORPORATE IDENTITY MAKES THE QUESTION SHARPER
Singapore records identify Mount Row Partners Pte. Ltd. as a company incorporated in November 2020. Its recorded paid-up capital is shown by Companies.sg as only SGD 100 at the indexed corporate-profile level.
Again, this is not proof that Mount Row could not invest US$25 million.
Investment managers routinely use funds, SPVs, investor commitments, capital calls, shareholder loans and other structures that are not reflected simply by looking at a nominal corporate paid-up-capital number.
But if a Singapore entity with nominal paid-up capital of SGD100 is represented publicly as an investment powerhouse responsible for a US$25 million investment, the next obvious investigative question is:
Where exactly did the investment capital sit?
Was it:
Mount Row’s own balance sheet?
A fund controlled by Mount Row?
Third-party limited partners?
Another affiliated vehicle?
A special-purpose entity?
Debt?
Convertible securities?
A subscription by outside family offices?
Or a combination?
The press release does not answer that.
THE NUMBERS ON THE KAIROSWEALTH SIDE DESERVE THE SAME SCRUTINY
A June 2026 company-data profile for KairosWealth Pte. Ltd. reports estimated revenue of less than US$1 million and ordinary share capital of approximately US$1.0075 million.
Those figures should not be misrepresented as audited financial statements; the source itself says its data may contain inaccuracies.
More importantly, US$1.0 million of ordinary share capital does not mean only US$1.0 million ever entered the business. Venture capital can be raised using preferred shares, convertible instruments, shareholder loans and other structures.
So the numbers do not prove the US$25 million claim false.
But they reinforce the central investigative point:
the public-facing funding headline is much easier to find than the detailed financing architecture behind it.
For a reported US$25 million financing, that architecture is the story.
RATTAN’S CURRENT KAIROSWEALTH BIOGRAPHY LEAVES VERY LITTLE AMBIGUITY ABOUT HIS ROLE
The current KairosWealth website does not merely list Rattan as an adviser.
It calls him:
“Founder and Chairman of the Board.”
That is materially stronger than the 2023 language of “Mount Row partner becoming chairman.”
And Milken Institute material in 2024 identified him as “Founder, Kairos Wealth.”
So there is independent institutional evidence supporting his founder status.
The relationship is therefore not a reporter’s invention.
The same person is publicly presented as the founder of the investor platform and the founder/chairman of the investee platform.
That is why the funding transaction deserves scrutiny.
THEN THERE IS KIRK WAGAR
The relationship does not stop with Rattan.
The 2023 funding announcement said former US ambassador to Singapore Kirk Wagar, then a Mount Row partner, would become KairosWealth’s vice-chairman.
That is another structural fact worth noticing.
The transaction did not merely involve:
Investor → Company.
It simultaneously involved:
Investor leadership → Investee leadership.
Again, that is not prohibited merely because it is related.
Founders, sponsors and strategic investors frequently take board seats.
But a sophisticated reader should immediately ask:
What was the independent governance mechanism?
Who negotiated on behalf of the company?
Who represented minority investors, if any?
Who valued the company?
Who approved the issuance?
Were independent directors present?
Was there a conflict-of-interest policy?
Were related-party interests documented?
The public articles don’t tell us.
AND NOW THE $25 MILLION HAS ANOTHER PROBLEM: “FUNDING” IS BEING USED AS A VALIDATION SIGNAL
This is where the difference between capital and publicity becomes important.
A fundraising announcement performs several functions simultaneously.
It supplies money.
It generates media coverage.
It creates an implied valuation signal.
It provides social proof.
It gives founders an external-looking credential.
And it gives future counterparties a convenient line:
“We raised US$25 million.”
But a funding number has meaning only when the reader knows:
who paid it, how much they paid, on what terms, and what independent capital was at risk.
A founder receiving money from an independently managed third-party fund is one thing.
A founder’s investment-management vehicle putting money into his own company is another.
Both can be perfectly legitimate.
But they are economically different.
And treating them as identical would be financial journalism with the difficult parts removed.
THE “SELF-INVESTMENT” QUESTION, PROPERLY STATED
So, did Krishan Rattan literally write a personal US$25 million cheque to himself?
There is no verified evidence in the sources reviewed that he personally did so.
Did a company publicly associated with Rattan — Mount Row Partners — invest in KairosWealth, a company that publicly identifies Rattan as founder and chairman?
Yes. The 2023 announcement and multiple subsequent databases identify Mount Row as the investor.
Did Terra-Invest independently supply the 2023 US$25 million?
That is not established by the strongest sources reviewed here. Current databases identify Mount Row, while Terra’s own current materials describe a broader relationship with Mount Row and KairosWealth but do not, in the material reviewed, provide a clean 2023 cap-table breakdown.
Is there evidence that Rattan founded or established Mount Row?
Yes. Terra-Invest’s own biography says he set up Mount-Row.
Is there evidence that Rattan founded KairosWealth?
Yes. KairosWealth itself currently calls him its Founder and Chairman, and Milken has previously identified him as Founder of Kairos Wealth.
Therefore, the defensible investigative formulation is not:
“Rattan invested in himself.”
It is:
“Mount Row, founded by Krishan Rattan, was announced as the investor in a US$25 million KairosWealth financing, while KairosWealth identifies Rattan as its founder and chairman, creating a clear potential related-party/conflict-of-interest question about the source, independence and governance of the capital.”
That sentence is much less sensational.
It is also much harder to dismiss.
AND THIS IS WHERE THE WORD “RELATED PARTY” MATTERS
Calling a transaction “related-party” requires more than knowing that one person appears in two company biographies.
The actual control and ownership arrangements have to be established.
But related-party optics are unquestionably present.
The same individual is:
Founder of Mount Row.
Founder of KairosWealth.
Chairman of KairosWealth.
And Mount Row was announced as the investor.
That combination demands disclosure.
Not because it proves wrongdoing.
Because the conflict question exists.
THE BROADER RATTAN RECORD MAKES DUE DILIGENCE EVEN MORE IMPORTANT
The KairosWealth transaction cannot sensibly be examined in isolation from Rattan’s broader financial history.
Terra-Invest currently portrays Rattan as a banker and financial-services entrepreneur who has raised, deployed and overseen more than US$12 billion in transactions, and says that before Terra he founded Mount-Row, with more than US$1.2 billion in AUM.
That is an exceptionally large professional narrative.
And large narratives naturally attract large questions.
One of the most significant questions comes from the English Commercial Court.
In Voltaire Capital Holdings Ltd & Ors v Watson & Ors, case CL-2022-000699, the July 2025 Commercial Court judgment identifies Krishan Rattan as the Second Defendant.
The case involved serious civil allegations made by the claimants. Those were allegations, not findings of fraud against Rattan.
That distinction has to be preserved.
There is, however, a documented procedural outcome that is not merely an allegation: in July 2025, the court ordered Rattan to pay £63,267 in costs in connection with a disclosure-related application.
Then the legal position changed.
A 5 August 2026 consent order resulted in the claims against Rattan being discontinued. The Delhi High Court’s September 2026 order records the later position and notes that Rattan relied on the consent order in arguing that proceedings against him had ended without an adverse finding of fraud, dishonesty or wrongdoing.
That means the current position must be reported accurately:
Rattan was sued.
He was Second Defendant.
The litigation generated an adverse costs order against him.
The claims against him were subsequently discontinued by consent in August 2026.
There was no trial judgment finding him liable for fraud.
Anything more aggressive than that would outrun the record.
Anything less precise would distort it.
DLI ADDS ANOTHER IMPORTANT CORPORATE-CONTROL QUESTION
Rattan also has a documented historical connection with Distribution Logistics Infrastructure Private Limited (DLI).
Public corporate data identifies him as a director, DIN 07998639, appointed on 19 April 2019.
DLI was subsequently admitted into the Corporate Insolvency Resolution Process on 14 May 2026, on a petition brought by Bank of India. The IBBI record identifies Prashant Jain as the insolvency professional.
IBBI’s published creditor material records very large secured claims. As of 6 June 2026, the admitted secured-creditor figures included:
Bank of Baroda — approximately ₹408.09 crore
ARCIL — approximately ₹82.55 crore
Bank of India — approximately ₹95.85 crore
with additional secured claims shown in the creditor schedules.
That is a corporate insolvency proceeding.
It is not a personal judgment that Rattan owes those amounts.
That distinction is essential.
But again, for an investment professional whose biography emphasises billions of dollars of transactions and sophisticated capital deployment, former board positions in distressed companies are objectively relevant due-diligence information.
THE NEW REPUTATION BATTLE IS ITSELF PART OF THE PUBLIC RECORD
There is another fact that cannot simply be ignored.
Rattan has now taken legal action concerning reporting about him.
On 14 September 2026, the Delhi High Court in CS(OS) 815/2026, Krishan Rattan v. Mr Nitin Naresh & Ors., recorded his reliance on the 5 August 2026 English consent order and granted an interim restraint preventing specified defendants from publishing further articles containing defamatory imputations against him.
But the same order expressly stated that the interim direction did not preclude the defendants from continuing their fact-finding exercise concerning allegations against Rattan.
That is an unusually important qualification.
The court’s interim order does not amount to a final judgment on every factual dispute.
For investigative journalism, the lesson is straightforward:
Primary documents beat adjectives.
And the irony is difficult to miss.
The more aggressively a financier builds a public reputation around sophisticated capital allocation, the more closely the market will examine the paperwork behind that reputation.
WHAT RATTAN HAS NOT PUBLICLY EXPLAINED — AT LEAST IN THE SOURCES REVIEWED
The crucial unanswered questions surrounding the KairosWealth financing are therefore not sensational questions about “fraud”.
They are corporate-finance questions.
Who legally subscribed for the US$25 million?
Was all of the US$25 million actually funded in cash?
Was the money equity, preference equity, debt, a convertible instrument, a shareholder loan, or some mixture?
What entity or fund supplied it?
Who owned that investor vehicle at the time?
Who ultimately controlled that investor vehicle?
What percentage of KairosWealth did the investor receive?
At what pre-money and post-money valuation?
Were any independent investors involved?
Was there an independent valuation?
Were Rattan’s dual roles disclosed to the board and investors?
Who represented KairosWealth in negotiations if Rattan was simultaneously the investee’s founder and incoming chairman?
What independent directors approved the transaction?
Were any related-party or conflict-of-interest procedures followed?
Why do public financing databases disagree on whether the same US$25 million financing was a 2023 Series A or a 2025 Series B?
Why does the current Singapore legal entity date back to 2018 while commercial profiles describe KairosWealth as founded in 2022?
These are legitimate questions.
And the answers should be documentary.
THE DOCUMENTS THAT WOULD END THE ARGUMENT IN ONE AFTERNOON
There is a remarkably simple way to settle most of this controversy.
Publish the transaction documents.
Not another interview.
Not another glossy profile.
Not another AI-generated description.
Not another “global investment powerhouse” paragraph.
The decisive documents would be:
the subscription agreement;
the shareholders’ agreement;
the cap table immediately before and after the financing;
the identity of every subscribing entity;
the beneficial ownership chain of every subscribing entity;
board minutes approving the investment;
conflict-of-interest declarations;
independent valuation material;
proof of funds;
banking records showing the capital actually entered the company;
the securities issued against the US$25 million;
and audited financial statements showing how the proceeds were deployed.
If the transaction was a clean, independently funded investment, those documents should make the controversy substantially less interesting.
If the transaction involved capital from Rattan-controlled or Rattan-associated vehicles, that does not automatically make it improper.
But the market should know.
Transparency is the antidote to suspicion.
Silence is not.
THERE IS ALSO A STRANGE IRONY IN THE AI WEALTH STORY
KairosWealth’s current pitch is built around transparency, automation, KYC, compliance and better information.
Its website markets fully automated KYC and onboarding, describes a compliance-as-a-service proposition and advertises up to 30% more revenue potential and 25% lower operational costs in its current presentation.
The 2023 material similarly emphasised the AI platform’s ability to improve efficiency and investment decision-making.
Which leads to the most uncomfortable editorial point of the entire story:
A company selling better information to wealthy investors should itself be able to provide better information about its own capital.
There is nothing particularly sophisticated about asking:
Whose money was it?
That is Finance 101.
The irony is that a platform whose commercial pitch rests on reducing information asymmetry should not itself leave material ambiguity around the identity and independence of its principal investor.
THIS IS NOT A VERDICT. IT IS A DUE-DILIGENCE WARNING LIGHT.
There is an important line between investigative journalism and character assassination.
The available public record does not establish that Krishan Rattan committed fraud through the KairosWealth financing.
It does not establish that the US$25 million was fake.
It does not establish that money was diverted from one company into another.
It does not establish that Rattan personally contributed US$25 million.
It does not establish that the financing violated any law.
And the public record reviewed here does not establish that Terra-Invest was an independent 2023 funder of the US$25 million round.
But the public record does establish enough to justify serious scrutiny:
Rattan founded Mount Row, according to Terra-Invest’s own biography.
Rattan is identified by KairosWealth as its founder and chairman.
Mount Row was publicly announced as the investor in a US$25 million KairosWealth financing.
Major databases continue to identify Mount Row as KairosWealth’s only known investor.
Public databases disagree over the round’s series/date classification.
The current KairosWealth legal vehicle was incorporated in 2018 and previously operated under other names, while the business is publicly described as created in 2022.
And Rattan’s broader public record includes corporate directorships, major litigation and the subsequent discontinuance of the Voltaire claims, as well as historical involvement with a company that entered CIRP in India.
Those are facts.
The interpretation is where discipline is required.
THE REAL QUESTION ISN’T “DID HE INVEST IN HIMSELF?”
That line is excellent for social media.
It is not precise enough for a serious newspaper.
The far more damaging question is actually much simpler:
WHEN A FOUNDER’S OWN INVESTMENT VEHICLE FUNDS A COMPANY HE FOUNDED AND THEN HE BECOMES THAT COMPANY’S CHAIRMAN, WHERE IS THE INDEPENDENT CAPITAL ALLOCATION DECISION?
That is the question that cannot be answered with a biography.
It cannot be answered with a Forbes-style promotional profile.
It cannot be answered with another press release.
And it certainly cannot be answered by repeating “US$25 million raised” 50 times until the number begins to sound like proof of external market validation.
A funding announcement is not an audit.
A founder title is not a valuation.
An AUM claim is not independently verified capital.
A press release is not a cap table.
And a sophisticated investor’s biography is not a substitute for transaction documents.
THE BOTTOM LINE
The public record supports an uncomfortable but carefully defined conclusion:
Krishan Rattan sits on both sides of the KairosWealth story at the level of founder identity and investment-platform association.
Mount Row — the firm he is publicly described as having founded — was announced as the investor in KairosWealth.
KairosWealth — the company that received that investment — identifies Rattan as its founder and chairman.
That does not prove that Rattan personally invested US$25 million in himself.
It does something more useful for an investigator:
It creates a clear demand for disclosure of the ownership, control, funding source, valuation and governance mechanics of the US$25 million transaction.
Until those mechanics are visible, the headline “KairosWealth raises US$25 million” tells the public how much was announced.
It does not, by itself, tell the public whose money it was, how independent that money was, what the investor received, or how much genuine third-party capital was actually standing behind Rattan’s new wealth-management empire.
And that is the part of the story that should interest anyone serious about finance.
Because in investment markets, the most revealing question is rarely:
“How much money was raised?”
It is:
“Who was sitting on the other side of the table?”
And in the KairosWealth transaction, the publicly available record suggests that the answer may not be as simple as the press release made it sound.
Editorial / legal accuracy note
This report distinguishes between documented corporate roles, published funding announcements, database records, pleaded allegations, court orders and unresolved questions. It does not state that Krishan Rattan committed fraud or any criminal offence in connection with KairosWealth. The Voltaire claims against him were later discontinued by consent in August 2026, and the September 2026 Delhi High Court order records that procedural development.
The US$25 million financing should therefore be characterised as publicly announced/recorded funding, while the precise source and structure of that capital remain matters for primary transaction documents and verified corporate filings.



