Govt appoints 29 members in Board of Trade

The government has nominated 29 non-official members from large and small enterprises and different sectors in the Board of Trade, chaired by the commerce and industry minister.

The board, which includes participants from states, union territories, senior officials from public and private sectors, provides a platform to discuss ways on boosting manufacturing and exports.

In 2019, the government had merged the Council of Trade Development and Promotion with the Board of Trade to bring greater coherence in the consultation process with all stakeholders for promoting exports and imports, according to a notification of the commerce ministry.

TCS and SonyLIV partner to create innovative business model and enhance growth - W.Media - Leading Cloud & Datacenter Publisher in Asia Pacific


The new non-official members include Tata Consultancy Services Chief Executive officer and Managing Director Rajesh Gopinathan, KKR India Chairman Sanjay Nayyar, Laghu Udyog Bharati Executive Member Om Prakash Mittal.

India Cellular and Electronics Association Chairman Pankaj Mahindroo, GCMMF (Amul) Managing Director RS Sodhi, and Arun Mandal, Chief Executive Officer, Bidhannagar Pineapple Development Trust, West Bengal, are some of the other non-official members, it said.

 Board of Trade

The members are entrusted with the task of providing a platform to state governments and UTs for articulating state-oriented perspectives on trade policy; to act as facilitator in implementation of District Export Hub events including sensitization workshops, identification and promotion of identified products.

They would also help states develop and pursue export strategies in line with national Foreign Trade Policy; facilitate a mechanism for discussion on operationalisation of the trade infrastructure; and review policy instruments and procedure for imports and exports and suggest steps to rationalize use, it added.

Additional/Joint Commissioner Now Empowered to pass Order on Notices issued by DGGSTI: CBIC

The official members include secretaries of different departments like revenue, commerce, health and agriculture besides NITI Aayog CEO, Deputy Governor of RBI, and CBIC (Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs) chairman.

Further, it also has representatives of industry chambers as ex-officio members.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker